Changes to The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS): What does this mean for your setting?

What is The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)?

The EYFS sets minimum standards for Early Years providers who take care of children under 5 years of age. It must be followed by all schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

It sets out to ensure that children are able to learn and develop properly, and that the environment they’re in is safe and suitable. The EYFS is a play-based curriculum which gives all professionals working in the foundation years a common set of principles and commitments, so all children can receive quality education and care.

The EYFS helps parents too. They can be assured that the place they choose for their child’s education is following a robust set of requirements, and the school, setting or childminder has committed to delivering quality education and childcare experiences to all children.

Click here to find out more about the EYFS.

How do I find out what changes have been made to the EYFS?

The revised edition came into operation on 3rd April 2017. Click here to read the new framework. Click here to read a handy one-page guide for providers. 

Where can I find a summary of the changes?

Read Dr Martin Bradley’s summary of the changes 

This summary of the changes should be considered in line with the guide to the EYFS in Montessori settings, which you can read here